The Structure of the Department of Transportation

Many of you may be wondering exactly what the structure for one of the largest departments in the United States government. Established as an act of congress in 1966, the Department of Transportation overseas the entirety of the ongoing transportation in the US including roads, highways, busses, trains, planes, and more. The department is governed by the United States Secretary of Transportation.

Other executives of the department include John Porcari, the Deputy Secretary of Transportation, Joan DeBoer, the Chief of Staff, and Robert S Rivkin, General Counsel. These people help the current Secretary, Ray LaHood, more efficiently run the department by sharing in the duties and responsibilities of the office and managing day-to-day operations.

A few of the agencies that the Department of Transportation Overseas are:

  • The Federal Aviation Administration- responsible for all air traffic that occurs within the United States.
  • The Federal Highway Administration- responsible for the interconnected roadways that populate our country.
  • Federal Railroad Administration- governs all railroads that carry goods to many parts of the country.
  • Maritime Administration- governs all sea faring traffic and maintains the National Defense Reserve Fleet.

As you can see, there are quite a few instances where the Department of Transportation is deemed useful to the American public.

Contact us to learn more!

Comments are closed.